See us on Youtube Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Flickr Follow us on Pinterest

Governor Information

The Governing Body of Caedmon College Whitby

CCW Governor Pen Portraits

For your information, below is a list of the College’s current Governors who hold responsibility for strategic matters at the College. Should you wish to contact the Governing Body, you can do so via the Clerk, Mrs Nedley, who is based at the College. Please note that it is inappropriate to contact individual Governors under normal circumstances on College governance issues as Governors deal with matters under specific committee remits at the direction of the Chair of Governors or as delegated by the Headteacher.

Parent Governors Term of office end date
Mr Garry Matthews
Mrs Alison Hodgson
Dr Julian Fester
Mrs Helen Beeforth
31 August 2018
31 August 2018
13 November 2020
13 November 2021
Local Authority Governor
Mr Richard Simpson Until next Local Government Election (September 2017)
Staff Governors
Mr Keith Prytherch (N/A – Principal)
Co-opted Governors
Mr Tony Hewitt
Alderman Jane Kenyon-Miller
Mrs Pen Cruz
Mr Ian Donald
31 August 2018
31 August 2018
31 August 2018
17 October 2020
Associate Governors
Mrs Sam Jones
Mrs Vicki Rahn
Student Leaders (x 2)
Mrs Sally Nedley

Membership of Committees for September 2016-17

Agreed by Governors on 18 October 2016 (the first Full Governors’ Meeting)

Resources Committee (minimum of 5)

  • Keith Prytherch
  • Richard Simpson (Chair)
  • Jane Kenyon-Miller
  • Pen Cruz
  • Garry Matthews
  • Sam Jones
  • Julian Fester
  • *Vicki Rahn (co-opted 2016-17)
Improvement Committee (minimum of 5)

  • Keith Prytherch
  • Richard Simpson
  • Garry Matthews (Chair)
  • Sam Jones
  • Alison Hodgson
  • Tony Hewitt
  • Pen Cruz
  • Vicki Rahn (co-opted for 2016-17)
Student Discipline Committee
x 3 Governors (Reserve from available Governors)

  • *Ian Donald
  • Tony Hewitt
Staff Discipline Committee
x 3 Governors (Reserve from available Governors)

  • Jane Kenyon-Miller
  • Alison Hodgson
  • Tony Hewitt
Appeals Committee
x 3 Governors (Reserve from available Governors)

  • Garry Matthews
  • Richard Simpson
Complaints Committee
x 3 Governors (Reserve from available Governors)

  • Garry Matthews

Staff Pay Review Committee
Governors from the Resources Committee excluding Staff Governors

Principal’s Performance Management
x 3 Governors (Reserve from available Governors)

  • Pen Cruz (Chair)
  • Richard Simpson
  • Garry Matthews


Link Governors
Self-evaluation Area Governor responsible (to include half-termly link visits and reports)
Achievement (led by Sam Jones and Hazel Kirk) Tony Hewitt
Teaching and Learning (Vicki Rahn) Alison Hodgson
Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare (Jonathan Bond) Garry Matthews
Leadership (Keith Prytherch and Sam Jones) Richard Simpson/Pen Cruz
Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural (Jonathan Bond) Pen Cruz
Post-16 (Alison Dimbleby and Dale Corcoran) Jane Kenyon-Miller
Health & Safety (Jackie Hunter) Richard Simpson/Roger Hartley
Safeguarding and Vulnerable Learners (Hazel Kirk) tbc
Foundation Learners (Hazel Kirk) tbc
Ofsted Richard Simpson, Garry Matthews


Attendance Figures for 2015/16
K Prytherch 100%
R Simpson 91%
G Matthews 83%
P Cruz 91%
H F Crane
(Associate Governor, left the Governing Body)
J Kenyon 67%
A Hodgson 100%
F Thomson 100%
S Jones 91%
R Hartley 67%
T Hewitt 83%
V Rahn
(Associate Governor, fixed term for one year)
N Slater 83%
J Narey
(Associate Governor, left the Governing Body)
D Chance
(Associate Governor only, left the Governing Body with effect from 16/03/16 – attendance percentage is up to that point only)

Registration of Pecuniary Interests 2016-2017

Name Declaration of Business Interest
Pen Cruz Lythe Village Hall – Trustee
Mulgrave Community Sports Ass – Trustee
Lythe Community shop – Founder member
Normanby Charitable Trust – Trustee
Roger Hartley left the Governing Body
Tony Hewitt Nil
Alison Hodgson St Hilda’s School Governor
Sam Jones Matthew Jones – Husband
Jane Kenyon-Miller Stakesby CP School Governor
Garry Matthews Nil
Lady Jan Narey left the Governing Body
Keith Prytherch Nil
Richard Simpson Nil
Neil Slater Nil
Fiona Thomson Woodlands Academy, Scarborough – Teacher
Julian Fester Egton Surgery – Partner
St Catherine’s Hospice – Hospice Practitioner
Humber Foundation Trust – Healthcare

Resources Committee Induction Manual

Download the Resources Committee Manual below:
Finance Induction Manual Word Document


Mrs S Nedley
Caedmon College Whitby
Prospect Hill
YO21 1LA
Tel: 01947 602406